Self-reflection

Moving on up, moving on out

Moving house, packing up, moving on
Photo by Josh Edgoose on Unsplash

I’m moving on Saturday.

It’s a long story, but all you really need to know is that our soon-to-be former landlord has proved himself to be totally cretinous. Imagine a landlord version of gaslighting, where despite all behavioural (and legal) evidence to the contrary, he tries to convince you that you are in fact doing him a massive disservice by, for instance, asking that your deposit be protected. He believes that he can’t possibly be a dodgy landlord because, and I quote, ‘I’ve never asked you to pay in cash’. SIGH.

Anyway, my housemates and I are looking forward to the day when a text from our landlord no longer induces a migraine, and this Saturday are moving to what promises to be a delightful little house in Tottenham.

Cue a frenzy of sorting, donating and packing. I am incredulous at my ability to have amassed so much crap in just two years. Random wires for products I’m not even sure I own, magazines kept because I ‘might get into scrapbooking’, and so much contact lens solution I could bathe in it (why do they send so much every month?!).

That dress I’ve had for about four years on the justification that I’ll eventually feel ‘mature’ enough to wear it? Yep, it’s not left the cupboard. Turns out I still like dungarees and cheap jewellery.

Dog in brown packing box for moving house
Photo by Erda Estremera on Unsplash

 

Of course, moving inevitably comes with a bunch of bullshit promises to myself that this time I’m going to hoover and dust my room at least once a week, that I’ll stay on top of my laundry, and always fold my clothes neatly. It hasn’t happened yet, but the 31st year’s a charm, right?

It feels good though. Particularly at the end of the year, it’s a powerful clean slate to purge half your belongings and move somewhere new and exciting. Suddenly a walk to the train station is unfamiliar! Will we have a local? Where will I do my ‘big’ food shop? Will the neighbours appreciate very loud improvised songs? Moving turns the mundane into…an adventure! It doesn’t take much to please me- I’ve been sleeping on a mattress for the last few nights having already dismantled my bed, it’s got me feeling bohemian as hell and I love it.

But as I pack up the last few things on Saturday, I’m sure there’ll be a moment of reflection in the excitement.

Au revoir, Walthamstow. You felt like home.

(Apart from that knobby landlord)

9 thoughts on “Moving on up, moving on out”

  1. You made me smile as you go on your new “adventure”… I’m sure there will be plenty of things to be grateful for. Don’t forget to go around to all the different new things with a smile on your face! 🙂

    Like

  2. Landlords can be the worst, but it’s exciting that you’re moving and I hope you get a better one this time! I’m glad I’m not the only one who ends up with extra bottles of contact solution, I have like 4 spare bottles!

    Soph – https://sophhearts.com/ x

    Like

  3. Moving can be pretty stressful but I think that in your case, getting to move away from that landlord makes it worth the hassle. Also, I think it’s nice that you’ll start your new year in a new home. It signifies a clean slate. I think that this home will bring you lots of happiness and success. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a comment